A roll-out of the 20mph speed restrictions in residential areas, which has been trialled in Falmouth and Penryn and the Camelford areas, is to be discussed next week by Cornwall Council.

The council is set to reduce speed limits in most built-up areas in Cornwall from the standard 30mph to 20mph. Bude is set to change in 2025.

20 mph limits – image from Cornwall Council

The trial has shown the sign-only approach to installing the new 20mph limit has resulted in mean speeds reducing in 20 of the 22 selected sites.  The project will now be extended across the rest of Cornwall, with priority given to areas with the worst road safety records.

  • Phase 2 (2023) – Camborne, Pool, Redruth, Illogan; West Penwith; Truro and The Roseland
  • Phase 3 (2024) – Hayle and St Ives; St Austell and Mevagissey; Newquay and St Columb; Cornwall Gateway (Saltash and Torpoint area); Liskeard and Looe; China Clay area
  • Phase 4 (2025) – Helston and South Kerrier; Bude; Launceston
  • Phase 5 (2026) – Wadebridge and Padstow; Bodmin; Caradon (Callington and Calstock area); St Blazey, Fowey and Lostwithiel; St Agnes and Perranporth

For users of public transport, plans to allow concessionary bus pass holders to continue to be able to use their cards at all times of day and night will be discussed when Cornwall Council’s Cabinet committee meets next week.

Under the terms of the English National Concessionary Travel Scheme (ENCTS), eligible older people and people with disabilities are provided with free off-peak travel on local bus services throughout England – between 9.30am and 11pm Mondays to Fridays and at any time on Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays.

In recent years, Cornwall Council has provided free travel at all hours, including peak times.  Now, following a review, a report prepared for next week’s meeting recommends extending the scheme.

The paper will be discussed when the committee meets in the Trelawny Room at County Hall in Truro on Wednesday, March 22 at 10am.