Results of Bude’s Awesome Foursome Quadrathlon

Yesterday, Shoreline Extreme Sports once again ran its Awesome Foursome Quadrathlon, an extreme multi-sport race for individuals, pairs and relay teams to enter.

As the website says:

The race makes the very most of Bude’s geography and features. The open water swim takes place within the shelter of Bude’s breakwater. The cycle ride includes some amazing coastal hills (including the 1 in 3 climb at Millook). The kayak leg takes place on the tranquil Bude canal. And the final run follows the canal towpath onto the coastal path and back to Bude. The fastest athletes will take around 3 hours to complete the course with most finished within 4 hours. 

The event starts with an 800 m sea swim, a double loop within Summerleaze bay, protected by the breakwater. Next a 30 km cycle following the coast road to Widemouth, Wanson Mouth and Millook before meeting the A39 at Wainhouse Corner and returning to Bude. Then a 10 km Kayak paddle, which is a double loop of the Bude canal. And finally a 10 km run along the canal towpath to Helebridge, following the marked footpath across the fields to Widemouth and returning to Bude via the coastal path. 

It is only for highly competent athletes, for obvious reasons.

Results include:

  1. Michael Birchmore Senior men
  2. Foreshore Relay 
  3. Lee Sampson and Simon Hammond Pair
  4. Nigel Unwin over 50 men 
  5. Harriet Enoch Senior women
  6. Sam Pantling over 40 men
  7. Sam Woodcock and Ben Long Pair 
  8. Paul Cottle over 50 men 
  9. Glyn Collen over 50 men
  10. Andy and Zack Davis Pair 
  11. Matt Rayment over 50 men
  12. Dave Arnold over 50 men
  13. Nicholas Farnell over 60 men 
  14. Rebecca Newson Senior women
  15. Mudeford Quad Club Relay 
  16. The Lemons Relay 
  17. Rawdams Relay
  18. Simon Cartwright over 50 men
  19. Peter Chappill over 60 men 
  20. Lorna and Simon Rimmer Pair 
  21. Penbode Vets Relay
  22. Helen Recchia and Paul Roebuck Pair 
  23. Marcus Johns over 50 men
  24. Mini Fry over 60 men
  25. Sally Crabb over 40 women
  26. John Kavanagh over 60 men
  27. Peter Marquis over 60 men
  28. Kevin O’Reilly and James Howard Jones Pair
  29. Andrew Lawson over 60 men 

Comments are closed here.