More people in tier 3 will impact Cornish tourism

All 32 London boroughs and the City of London, and parts of both Essex and Hertfordshire will be moved to Tier 3 restrictions, coming into effect from the beginning of Wednesday 16 December, the government has announced today.  As part of Tier 3 restirctions, people are not supposed to travel unnecessarily (e.g., holidays). The guidance says:

 People should avoid travelling outside their area, including for overnight stays, other than where necessary, such as: for work, for education, to access voluntary, charitable or youth services, because of caring responsibilities, for moving home, to visit your support bubble, for a medical appointment or treatment.

This may lead to cancellations of holiday bookings in areas like Cornwall. Tier 3 visitors are not allowed to eat out, etc., indoors.

The areas that are being moved to Tier 3 are:

  • all of London’s 32 boroughs and the City of London
  • in Essex: Basildon, Brentwood, Harlow, Epping Forest, Castle Point, Rochford, Maldon, Braintree, Chelmsford – and two unitary authorities Thurrock and Southend-on-Sea Borough Councils
  • in Hertfordshire: Broxbourne, Hertsmere, Watford and Three Rivers


Comments are closed here.