Brexit vote – Scott Mann votes against deal

Theresa May’s Brexit deal was voted down this evening despite her attempts to rally the troops. The defeat was massive, 432 to 202 to reject the deal, which has triggered calls for a vote of no confidence in the government. Nearly 120 Conservative MPS voted against Theresa May’s deal including Cornwall MP, Scott Mann. Geoffrey Cox, across the border in Devon, however, voted for the deal.

Scott Mann, MP for North Cornwall, voted against the deal. His position is that prior to the referendum, he wanted the UK to leave the EU. Geoffrey Cox for Torridge and West Devon voted for, but he too wanted the UK to leave the EU. 118 Conservative rebels voted against the deal, along with 248 Labour MPs, 35 SNP, 11 Lib Dem, 10 DUP (who have been propping up the government) 4 Plaid Cymru, 1 Green and 5 Independents.

The vote marks the largest defeat of a government motion in 100 years, according to the BBC.

Will we now have a ‘No Deal Brexit’ (widely considered to be a disaster for the UK)?

We have to watch as this political mess unfolds.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.